Introductory Metas for new solvers?

A place to hang out, get to know other Muggles and discuss everything under the sun.
tonyrobots

Introductory Metas for new solvers?

Post by tonyrobots »

Hello Muggles! I often find myself singing the praises of metas to fellow crossword solvers who have not yet heard of, or taken the plunge into, meta puzzles. I wanted to put together a small packet of 2-3 puzzles to share as a gentle introduction to the form. Any suggestions? I think I'd want to include at least one week 2 or 3 MGWCC-level entry so it's not all just the very simplest stuff.

(Apologies if this has already been covered before -- if so, will happily take pointers to past threads instead.)

Thanks in advance.
SReh26

Post by SReh26 »

Thats a great idea! Like the bunny slope in skiing. As a 6 week newbie, I wouldn’t mind seeing those either.
Cindy

Post by Cindy »

tonyrobots wrote: Wed May 26, 2021 4:14 pm Hello Muggles! I often find myself singing the praises of metas to fellow crossword solvers who have not yet heard of, or taken the plunge into, meta puzzles. I wanted to put together a small packet of 2-3 puzzles to share as a gentle introduction to the form. Any suggestions? I think I'd want to include at least one week 2 or 3 MGWCC-level entry so it's not all just the very simplest stuff.

(Apologies if this has already been covered before -- if so, will happily take pointers to past threads instead.)

Thanks in advance.
All WSJ from the beginning are available on the WSJ site. I went back and worked all of the old puzzles to learn. Then you can look at the solutions and crosswordfiend.com explanations if needed.
tonyrobots

Post by tonyrobots »

Cindy wrote: Thu May 27, 2021 6:54 am
All WSJ from the beginning are available on the WSJ site. I went back and worked all of the old puzzles to learn. Then you can look at the solutions and crosswordfiend.com explanations if needed.