How many vocations do MGWCC solvers share?

A place to hang out, get to know other Muggles and discuss everything under the sun.
eckmania

How many vocations do MGWCC solvers share?

Post by eckmania »

I put this question in the MGWCC thread, but i shoulda put it here I think. I was immediately drawn to metas once I “discovered” Matt’s website 9 years ago. I’ve often wondered if there are certain “types” of people who gravitate towards metas. I sometimes get hints about what professions some fiend commenters are in, but I’m wondering if there has ever been a ”roll call/survey” of sorts to see how many vocational and/or avocational similarities are shared among the 500+ regular solvers.

I’ll start-
I’m a dentist and a music composer.

Joe
ky-mike

Post by ky-mike »

I started college as a computer science major and ended with a Finance major. Retired CPA who worked in both public (5 yrs) and private (32 yrs) sectors. I think that the logic required to program computers and make balance sheets balance is a great fit for crossword solving, especially meta crosswords.

Mike
MikeyG

Post by MikeyG »

I am a tutor of math, English, and test prep for close to 15 years. Math is like a puzzle to solve, which is why I enjoy it so much, and I do see some overlap in meta crosswords that use similar mathematical parts of the brain. It's the marriage of crossword and logic problems (outside of meta crosswords, my favorite puzzles are those classic logic-based ones with the grids or the tables; I have yet to figure out how to incorporate one into a meta puzzle, but never say never!).

Mikey G
Less cross words, more crosswords.

Solve my latest "Pun of a Kind" Meta!: 92. It's a Breeze
benchen71

Post by benchen71 »