How many vocations do MGWCC solvers share?

Please come in and say hello and tell us something about yourself.
eckmania

How many vocations do MGWCC solvers share?

Post by eckmania »

I was immediately drawn to metas once I “discovered” Matt’s website 9 years ago. I’ve often wondered if there are certain “types” of people who gravitate towards metas. I sometimes get hints about what professions some fiend commenters are in, but I’m wondering if there has ever been a ”roll call/survey” of sorts to see how many vocational and/or avocational similarities are shared among the 500+ regular solvers.

I’ll start-
I’m a dentist and a music composer.

Joe
oldjudge

Post by oldjudge »

Retired crude oil trader--that's /crude oil/ trader, not /crude/ oil trader 🤣
sharkicicles

Post by sharkicicles »

I’m an app developer that missed the MGWCC in which the answer was “APP DEVELOPER.”
AaronT

Post by AaronT »

My background is software engineering, specializing in business intelligence/analytics. But now in senior leadership and haven’t been hands-on for several years.
dudeski

Post by dudeski »

Gastroenterologist
MajordomoTom

Post by MajordomoTom »

CPA/ tax attorney/ SVP at a Trust Company
"Lots of planets have a North", the Ninth Doctor.
JerryF

Post by JerryF »

City Planner - retired
Bob cruise director
Cruise Director

Post by Bob cruise director »

@eckmania

From what I have seen over the years we could run a small city with the muggles we have posting. There is no absolute skills required but the key talent is thinking out of the box and the willingness to step away and come back. And the willingness to both share and learn.

At one point we took a poll on ages and the inexact results were that the men averaged about 65 and the women averaged about 55. But we have muggles of all ages.
Bob Stevens
Cruise Director
Janet

Post by Janet »

I'm an aerospace engineer. Not retired yet, but I'd guess a lot of folks have more time for this once they are retired.